Trocaire Box Populi

Via Blurred Keys and Fergus Cassidy, I see that I was quoted without attribution in the Sunday Business Post on, er, Sunday, in relation to this post.

I’m not particularly bothered about my site not getting mentioned, because I could have said something far more apposite and witty, and also because publicity is not one of my priorities, but I can understand why bloggers would want to see some form of etiquette observed.

Bloggers are a handy source of opinion for newspapers, since they result in lower production costs for a newspaper than if the newspaper had to pay someone to go out and ask a group of people in the street for their opinions, or even if the journalist had to make the quotes up. But it would be nice if they were quoted in exchange.

Just so as you know, however, I am more than happy to provide an anonymous quote for any story going. The only stipulation is that instead of getting referred to as ‘a blogger’ under such circumstances, I must be described in the report either as ‘a person’, or ‘a member of the public’.

Click here for info on how to donate to Trócaire’s Lenten campaign.

4 Responses to “Trocaire Box Populi”


  1. 1 Nadine March 15, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Hugh,
    Sorry about not crediting you in the article — you’re completely right, your blog should have been mentioned.
    Lesson learned!
    All the best,
    Nadine

  2. 2 hughgreen March 15, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Hi Nadine,

    Thanks – it’s very gracious of you to respond, and I feel slightly embarrassed for having raised the matter now. Hope the SBP is treating you well,

    H

  3. 3 Bernie Goldbach March 18, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    The way I figure, all power to the Trocaire campaign and all focus on the BCI process of maintaining public space free of inappropriate messages. Not that I agree with the BCI’s mandate to cleanse commercial media of the Trocaire advertisement.


  1. 1 cearta.ie » Blog Archive » Trócaire revise ads in face of BCI ban Trackback on March 15, 2007 at 10:19 pm

Leave a comment




March 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031