“Imagine if it was Prince Charles, or Camilla, or a Police Officer, who had been within an inch of their life”

 

5 Responses to ““Imagine if it was Prince Charles, or Camilla, or a Police Officer, who had been within an inch of their life””


  1. 1 Donagh December 14, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I’m doubly shocked. Shocked at the incident and shocked at the report and interview. And I didn’t think I could be.

  2. 2 Hugh Green December 14, 2010 at 10:55 am

    The police actions were atrocious, but the BBC interview was outrageous. “But you work for the BBC, Mr Brown: isn’t that enough for the police to kick your head in?”

    Fair play to McIntyre though, he hit Ben Brown with both barrels.

  3. 3 LeftAtTheCross December 14, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Absurd interview. The blatant Ceaucescu-esque media coverage of the anti-austerity protests is something I hadn’t noticed since the days of the cold war, or the section-31 reporting of the Provos.

    • 4 Hugh Green December 14, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Seeing this sort of crap is like the old Smiths line “Has the world changed, or have I changed?” Any time I turn on the BBC these days there’s always a substantial chunk of news programming devoted to some aspect of the occupation of Afghanistan, apparently intended to rouse martial spirit and respect for the army among the population.

      I’m old enough to remember a BBC news programme justifying a loyalist double murder by describing the family affected as a ‘republican family’ while the bodies were still warm. Somewhere along the line I seemed to forget that this is an institution that first and foremost serves the priorities of the British establishment. Maybe I didn’t forget. Maybe I’ve just forgotten that I didn’t forget.

      • 5 defencecommittee December 14, 2010 at 12:52 pm

        Interviewer: “Were you throwing anything at the police on that day?”

        Jody just minutes before having said “I cant physically use my wheelchair myself”

        This is one of the most bizzare interviews I have ever seen.

        For much of the last ten years media presenters, and the media in general, have been quite cosy in their relationship with their audience. Their underlying views and social role masked by increasing prosperity and social stability. Their views and stances meshed with that of the audience.

        Now that mask is starting to drop and they are clearly so out of sync with reality. The interview on Liveline after the pouring of paint over Harney similarly exposed the real bias and establishment right wing views of Joe Duffy.

        I think the more people start taking action and start challenging the establishment then the more interviews such as that on Liveline and with Jody there will present themselves to exposing these media swines.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

