Baulk To Joe

I’ve lost count of the times my neighbours have recommended that I call Joe Duffy to resolve a whole range of problems, ranging from telephone bills to potholes to hospital conditions. One neighbour of mine says, proudly, that every time he calls the council about something, he threatens that if they fail to address the matter he will be straight on to Joe Duffy. It as though Joe Duffy were a public instrument of terror to be brought to bear on the evil forces of state and big business. But he -it- is nothing of the sort. Duffy’s programme perpetuates a sense of the little man or woman getting ground down by these forces, but unable to do anything about it apart from call Joe Duffy, as though it were a matter of petitioning a benevolent prince. Its function is to induce despair, not alleviate it, by presenting the existing state of affairs as a fait accompli, with only Jooooe Duffaaigghhh to turn to.

3 Responses to “Baulk To Joe”


  1. 1 Ciarán February 17, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I’m offended by your post. I think I’ll ring Joe Duffy.

  2. 3 Eoin February 18, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I’ve just read this post after placing my comment on your later post about O’Dea. I’m calling Joe to complain that I didn’t see it earlier so that my outrage could be better placed.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

