‘Sure, we let them talk back’

Further to what I was saying about freedom yesterday.

Conversations – Expert’s Advice – Stop Whining and Run Your Small Business – Question – NYTimes.com

Q. Can your employees talk back to you or say, “Sorry, boss, but that’s a stupid idea?”

A. We actually did a survey around Christmas of their attitudes toward the company. Two-thirds of them thought the company was changing for the better. We let them write any comments they had. One guy that worked for me for 10 years wrote, “If I fell dead at my desk, George wouldn’t notice for two days.” Sure, we let them talk back. We like to listen, but you can only listen so much and then you have to make a choice.

Q. What’s your view of fear as a management tool?

A. Fear is the best motivator.

Q. Are you a tyrant?

A. I’m sure many people would view me as difficult. If I ask you to do something and you say, “Geez, I don’t have enough time to do that.” Well, maybe I don’t have enough time to sign your check this week.

Via ladypoverty.

0 Responses to “‘Sure, we let them talk back’”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

