Au Courant

Some News/Current Affairs News: this blog has been nominated for Best News/Current Affairs Blog at the Irish Blog Awards. My thanks to whoever is responsible for the beau geste: I can only admire the breadth of your understanding of the meaning of News/Current Affairs Blog. I would rate my chances of winning at somewhere between zero and zero, but that does not matter. It is nice to be appreciated. Had there been a Best Use of Green Rubber Gloves In A Blog, or Best Reference To Randy Gameshow Host In A Blog Title, I may have picked up a couple of gongs. Perhaps this injustice will be redressed in future years. I may also float the idea of Most Obnoxious Use of Gallicisms In a Blog, and plan for victory accordingly.

Reading through the list of blogs, there is some good stuff there, but there are a couple of conspicuous omissions. Thinking in conventional terms about News/Current Affairs, I am surprised not to see Best of Both Worlds there. And the absence of Michael Taft’s Notes on The Front suggests that political economy is not high on the priorities of readers of Irish blog award nominators. For what it’s worth, I think his Recession Diaries series is easily the best writing in Ireland on the main question de nos jours.

7 Responses to “Au Courant”


  1. 1 Seán Báite January 23, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Compulsory gallicism : félicitations – and I wish I had her mobile no, the same Felicity.
    I won’t go as far as one of your recent commentors ‘Best Snidely Logical Blog’…
    More ‘Best healthy dose of wry detachment in a Blog’
    Mind boggles as to who has enough free time to trawl through all those blogs to actually come up with the nominations. People employed in IT I s’pose.
    As to current affairs – you haven’t repeatedly referred to sultanas… or other forms of dried raisins by any chance ??

  2. 2 Hugh Green January 23, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Merci, Seán. ‘healthy dose of wry detachment’: I like it, though I would like to think I’m a wee bit more committed. How about ‘healthy dose of wry semi-detachment’? As for the sultanas, no. A case of ‘aucune raison’ ha ha I kill me.

  3. 3 annemollie January 23, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    You’re still barred in China, so no votes from there – but I could be persuaded…

  4. 4 Seán Báite January 26, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Je trouve que vous n’êtes pas raisin-nable, M. GREEN…
    I am dead too, and so is De Gaulle…
    Someone put this terrible pun in a bun or something, to finish it off…

  5. 5 coc January 26, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Where are Keats & Chapman when you need them?

  6. 6 Longman Oz January 28, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Someone put this terrible pun in a bun or something, to finish it off…

    Une blague-ette peut-etre?

  7. 7 Seán Báite January 30, 2009 at 6:28 am

    LO – assez, assez !
    As to Keats and Chapman – I hear that due a 15% drop in profitablility in the Punning division of na gCopaleen Teo. over the last quarter, they’ve both been laid off as a costcutting measure.
    The times we live in :-<


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

