You Never Know, It Might Catch On

China hands out death sentences over tainted milk – The Irish Times – Thu, Jan 22, 2009

The chairwoman of the dairy at the centre of China’s melamine-tainted milk scandal was sentenced to life in prison today for producing and selling fake or substandard products. Two other defendants in the trial were given death sentences.

That reminds me of a one-way conversation I had with a taxi driver on the way to the airport before Christmas. On arrival at the terminal, he said ‘Drug dealers!’ apropos of nothing, and then, ‘they should do with them what they do to drug dealers in China: shoot them and harvest their organs!’.

I hate it when people I don’t know make outrageous proposals to me. I don’t want to offend them by replying that their proposal is revolting, but at the same time, I don’t like just saying nothing. What happens instead, much to my regret, is a sort of on-the-one-hand-on-the-other pendulum type reflex, where I am tempted to weigh up the pros and cons and then offer some sort of practical suggestion as to why it’s never going to work. That time, I was on the verge of saying, yes, but drug dealer organs are probably in very poor condition due to the amount of drugs they ingest, not to mention their poor diet etc etc. I might even have referred to the story from the Eagle in the 1980s called ‘The Hand’ where a mass murdering criminal’s hand gets grafted onto a decent nice guy, and he ends up killing lots of people. Overcoming this reflex is the bane of my life, to a certain extent.

2 Responses to “You Never Know, It Might Catch On”


  1. 2 Hugh Green January 22, 2009 at 11:35 am

    No, never. Then again, I might feel a lot better.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

