Yes, but did the pigs speak Irish?

The man in front of me at the butchers asked if they had Kearns sausages. The butcher said that they had Olhausen sausages, which were basically the same thing, made by the same company. Ah no, says the man, I’ll not bother then.

And rightly so. God knows what manner of revolting pigs’ innards they’ve been stuffing into the foreign sounding brand.

In fact, Olhausens itself is an Irish brand, even making an appearance in Ulysses. Not that I am recommending it, though.

2 Responses to “Yes, but did the pigs speak Irish?”


  1. 1 KevanB November 19, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I never knew that. Them being made by the same company, that is. I just grab the ones I like and move on to the next item in the shopping list. The great debate at the moment is if Olhausens or Tesco’s finest make the best sausages for toad in the hole. Well, it seems to have taken over as a subject. I guess the daughters prefer it to another rave from Dad about the current government.

    As usual your blog is a source of enlightenment.

  2. 2 Hugh Green November 19, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Glad to pass on the information. I was quite pleased with Tesco’s finest the last time I tried them. Regrettably I find both Olhausen and Kearns stomach-churning, but not so much as Denny sausages, both Gold Label and plain, which are simply ghastly. My enthusiasm for pork products on the whole is fading somewhat, perhaps due to the fact that I must have eaten my entire weight in pork this past year. We had a boned serrano ham sitting in the kitchen and everything.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

