Until I Learn To Expect My Reward

The leader of the opposition in Ireland’s official department of capitalo-parlementarisme says

No decent government would take away something given to older people as a reward for serving the State in difficult times.

How’s about that for robust opposition? I don’t know whether it was FF or FG who originally thought the point of free medical cards was a way of saying ‘well done good and faithful servant’, but the starting point here for Kenny’s criticism of the government’s actions gives you some idea of why this place is U-bend bound. Apparently it’s desirable that your health prospects should depend on how well you served the very entity that, in a democratic society, is supposed to serve you. And then he quotes Alan Greenspan at the end. Jesus Christ.

2 Responses to “Until I Learn To Expect My Reward”


  1. 1 copernicus October 20, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    While it is unfortunate to live in a state in which the State exists to serve itself and certain parties, I’m pretty sure the answer isn’t to conceive and give birth to a State which is “there to serve me”.

  2. 2 Hugh Green October 20, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Indeed, though by serve I was referring to the idea of the state as an instrument of the population, and not, as one “there to serve me” might connote, a Daddy Warbucks figure.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

