Is This The Real Life

The Bury-based five-piece, who were first nominated for the prize in 2001, were rewarded for their fourth album, The Seldom Seen Kid, which the judges said was “an epic rock record – triumphant, heartbreaking, unerringly melodic and life affirming

I liked the Elbow record a lot, despite the fact that as a very superficial person, I was initially put off the band’s music by their terrible name. But seeing any record getting described as ‘life affirming’ makes me want to blow chunks, even though I’m not quite sure what it’s supposed to mean.

Below, Eels do Hey Man (Now You’re Really Living), which has a life affirming title.

I also liked the Last Shadow Puppets and Neon Neon records. Neon Neon would have been my pick of the three that I heard. A concept album about John DeLorean: what’s not to like? From it, Belfast, which I presume is not the official video, though it does contain some fairly extensive footage of young ‘uns throwing petrol bombs.

0 Responses to “Is This The Real Life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

