Intellectuals

Bernard Kouchner:

“I believe what we shall do on Monday is listen to them, but we’re not visiting them in our capacity as the French (EU) presidency. We’ll listen to the parties, to civil society, to the intellectuals… To say that this can be settled quickly is not true. Time is needed,” he said.

Intellectuals?

The other night I was watching Miriam O’Callaghan’s chat show -which is an abomination, but that’s besides the point- and she introduced John Waters as, inter alia, a philosopher, a description that forces us to treat a bit more seriously Alan Partridge’s claim that his favorite philosopher was Peter Ustinov.

Say, you don’t think…no, best not go there.

4 Responses to “Intellectuals”


  1. 1 Donagh July 21, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    I didn’t watch it, but I caught the short bit that Miriam does in the ad break for the 9 O’Clock news where she announces the guests using subtle ‘teaser’ descriptions. Each guest was the best of everything and although I can’t remember what Waters was supposed to be – I don’t think philosopher was mentioned at that point – somebody should get on to the ombudsman to complain about the very fact that Waters could be described as being the best of anything.

    However, the thing that struck me, and which forced me to make a comment to my wife, also called Miriam, at the time, was the big wade of cash that Miriam flashed at the end. That she waved it somewhere around her breasts is unsettling, especially as it reminded me that Pat Kenny usually displays is on his lap.

  2. 2 Donagh July 21, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    I don’t know what a wade of cash is, but what I meant to say was ‘big wad of cash’.

  3. 3 Hugh Green July 21, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I double-checked on the website, just in case I misheard, because it seems ridiculous. But yes, she did describe him as a philosopher.


  1. 1 Circumnavigation and its Discontents « Most Sincerely Folks Trackback on July 27, 2008 at 9:52 pm

Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

