One I’d Get

Radiohead have never convinced me. I bought Creep the very first time it came out for 10p (in a closing down sale), and I didn’t like it much. Still don’t like it, but I like this version of it, from the Spanish version of Pop Idol, which manages to reveal the essence of the song in its full awfulness.

Nothing like a dose of audience handclaps to lighten the mood. And the only good bit of the original song- the snatches of crunching guitar at the start of the chorus- have been dubbed down so it sounds like someone starting a lawnmower out the back.

Funny how the tiniest difference in intonation can change the way you interpret a lyric. In the original, Thom Yorke sings ‘couldn’t look you in the eye’ and you pay no heed. In this version, ‘eye’ is ever so slightly more pronounced, so you find yourself thinking, why ‘eye’ and not ‘eyes’? Is the song directed to someone with only one eye, perchance? And instead of float like a feather/in a beautiful world, you get ‘float like a feathehmm/in a beautiful worm’, which is delightful: one is led to imagine that a feathehmm is some sort of free-drifting virus, setting out to do its worst to an unsuspecting silkworm.

2 Responses to “One I’d Get”


  1. 1 Seán Báite July 19, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    I hope you voted for the wee lass, at least for her innovative approach to the English language… 🙂

    Have to admit, I share your view on Radiohead – always remember a comment by the lad from Cornershop putting them down as the 90s Pink Floyd – portentous humourless rock sludge for the white English middle class….
    Don’t think I’d even fork out 10p in a closing down sale.

    I try to feign entusiasm though when a fellow exile does (on a fairly regular basis) an acoustic version of this very song in a Derry accent – when he has the whole feckin’ back catalogue of the Undertones to choose from !!!!

  2. 2 Hugh Green July 22, 2008 at 9:09 am

    In fairness to me, I bought it before I’d even heard it: it sunk without trace the first time it was released.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

