Wholly Holey

I’ve mentioned a few times about how members of my family read this blog. Sometimes I get feedback from them, usually in the form of a correction to some error of grammar or spelling, which is tantamount to murdering someone as far as they’re concerned. And my mother sometimes gives off about the crude language, though I have to say, the language on this blog would get a PG rating.

One concern expressed today was that I was going through some sort of belated anal phase, that there were too many references to bottoms and poo, though there are children’s programmes with more such references.

My mother didn’t like the fact that I ended one post with ‘the world is a shithouse’, and another with ‘he’s better than a boot up the hole’. I think it’s a fair criticism. Aesthetically speaking, neither is a pretty phrase, and both are somewhat out of tune with the general tenor of the post.

But I asked her why she didn’t like it. She said, I was reading through the post, and I liked what you were saying, but that bit at the end, well that just tore the ass out of it.

5 Responses to “Wholly Holey”


  1. 1 Donagh April 18, 2008 at 11:33 am

    well that just tore the ass out of it.Very funny that. But perhaps you should count yourself lucky. When my ugly visage appeared in a Sunday newspaper recently (to my embarrassment and my families joy) in connection with my blog my mother was of course, delighted. But I had to explain to her WHY my opinion was being sought for a filler article in the Magazine of a newspaper with considerably lower sales than the Sunday Times. I’ve been there before with my mother. I made one attempt and when it was clear that it wasn’t sinking in, I left it.

    I should explain though that my mother will be 80 in two weeks time.

  2. 2 Rusty April 18, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Who’s like me since Leatherass died?

  3. 3 The other Hugh April 18, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    …..and Tinbelly went to America.

  4. 4 Carol January 12, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Who’s like me since Leatherass died? My mother used this expression and no one knows what it means. What does it mean?

    Carol

    • 5 Hugh Green January 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm

      Hi Carol – I don’t know what the origin of the phrase is (or indeed who Leatherass was) but it is a phrase applied to someone who holds himself in high regard among his friends and neighbours.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

