My Part In The 2008 US Presidential Elections

I don’t think it’s immodest for me to say that I had a role in the Northern Ireland peace process comparable to that of Hillary Clinton. I attended two peace rallies, one to call for peace and the other to make sure that peace continued, and I went on several cross-community initiatives, including ones organised by the RUC. At one of these, I talked to a Protestant. At first there was mutual suspicion and distrust, and I struggled to contain the eons-old urge to smash his face in with a half brick, but after a minute talking about Neighbours, you could feel the concrete barricades between us crumble, and the centuries of hatred melt away.

I also had an instrumental role in Hillary Clinton’s candidacy for presidency. She was at a rally in Northern Ireland, and I turned up at it, thus bolstering her own role in the Northern Ireland peace process.  However, unlike her, I don’t like to draw attention to my key role in breaking down the walls of sectarian heartache.

3 Responses to “My Part In The 2008 US Presidential Elections”


  1. 1 KevanB March 10, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I feel my role was greater in the peace proccess as I had to listen to some Catholic going on about Neighbours. The sacrifices one makes. Didn’t go to a rally though so I figure your role in world affairs in much greater tham mine.

  2. 2 Dean Nullec March 10, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Like Obama, McCain and Clinton you will need to prove Irish ancestry!

  3. 3 Hugh Green March 11, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    KevanB. Aha – so it was you. I still have your sash somewhere. Still got my crucifix?

    Dean Nullec: – Sadly for the US, but fortunately for me, I’m still under 35, so I won’t be running in this election.


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

