In The Pale Afternoon

Bob sings Masters of War, backed by the Heartbreakers. The lyrics are to my mind the most powerful of any anti-war song I know:

You fasten the triggers
For the others to fire
Then you set back and watch
When the death count gets higher
You hide in your mansion
As young people’s blood
Flows out of their bodies
And is buried in the mud

and then:

And I hope that you die
And your death’ll come soon
I will follow your casket
In the pale afternoon
And I’ll watch while you’re lowered
Down to your deathbed
And I’ll stand o’er your grave
‘Til I’m sure that you’re dead

0 Responses to “In The Pale Afternoon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

