Collected Chiaoscuro

I was messing with the search function on my iPod.

Top 10 songs about light in my collection (there’s 37 results)

  1. I Saw The Light – Todd Rundgren
  2. I Saw The Light – The Raspberries
  3. I Saw The Light – Hank Williams
  4. I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight – Richard and Linda Thompson
  5. Shut Out The Light – Bruce Springsteen
  6. Blinking Lights (For Me) – Eels
  7. What Is The Light? – Flaming Lips
  8. When The Lights Go Out All Over Europe – Divine Comedy
  9. I Love To Give You Light – Snoop Dogg
  10. A Luz De Tieta – Caetano Veloso

Interestingly, there are less songs about darkness, 13 in total, and are confined to a narrower range of artists.

  1. Dark End Of The Street – Flying Burrito Brothers
  2. Darkness On The Edge Of Town – Bruce Springsteen
  3. Straight Into Darkness – Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers
  4. In My Hour of Darkness – Gram Parsons
  5. The Dark Is Rising – Mercury Rev
  6. By The Time It Gets Dark – Yo La Tengo
  7. Beware Of Darkness – George Harrison
  8. I See A Darkness – Johnny Cash
  9. Dark Man Of My Dreams – Mike Scott
  10. My Dark Side – Mike Scott
4 Responses to “Collected Chiaoscuro”


  1. 1 Twenty Major January 7, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    But how many songs do you have about brown?

  2. 2 Hugh Green January 7, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Two: Big Brown Moon by Dodgy and When Can Brown Begin by Jimmy Webb. I thought I also had Bad Bad Leroy Brown and Brown Sugar, but it looks like I never loaded them.

  3. 3 Twenty Major January 10, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I have no songs with ‘brown’ in the title. Which is good, I think.


  1. 1 linda thompson Trackback on January 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

