Phoning It In

OK. The other day I threatened to start to use some sort of voice recognition software since I was feeling rather indolent. Well, the indolence has deepened and this is the first weblog entry that I am going to write using MS Office’s speech recognition instead of the normal process of thinking using my fingers.

In order for the machine to understand what I’m saying, I need to speak more clearly than what I am used to. And if I want the computer to understand me without having to go back over it and do countless corrections, its easier for me to speak using American accent. I now think I have some idea of what it must feel like to work in a call center in Bangalore.

To give you an example, here is the first sentence of Dialectic of Enlightenment:

In the most general sense of progressive thought, the enlightenment has always aimed at liberating men from fear and establishing their sovereignty.

And here it is, read briskly in an American accent:

In the most general sense of progressive thought the enlightenment has always seemed at liberating man from fear and establishing their sovereignty.

And in a Northern Irish accent:

And the most general sense of repressive fraud indictment has always seemed that every inning man from fear and establishing their sovereignty.

So it seems like there is a long way to go, but dictating posts does have its advantages. I am able to stand up and look out the window to see the young children torturing cats and breaking sapling trees while at the same time deliver my thoughts to the computer screen. However the price I must pay for this comfort is that I must speak either like a middle ranking civil servant from London or a telecommunications engineer from Dallas, and I am uncertain as to how to this might affect the way I think.

2 Responses to “Phoning It In”


  1. 1 web hosting October 31, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I
    have discovered It positively useful and it has
    aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & help
    different customers like its aided me. Good job.

  2. 2 Arron August 20, 2016 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks designed for sharing such a pleasant idea, artticle is
    pleasant, thats why i have read it completely


Leave a Reply

I on Twitter

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

